top of page

Television: All Koresh All the Time


In the mid-aughts, I was an office drone trying to survive the day-to-day grind within a sea of cubes. One day, in the midst of trying to walk back to my cube - seeking to avoid eye contact with just about everyone so I could hunker down, drink my coffee, and surf the net - I temporarily glanced up to see one of the more wondrous things of my life: I worked with a guy who looked like David Koresh.

This wasn’t some slight resemblance...this guys was Koresh in the flesh. For a few years until I left that company, I saw Koresh on nearly a daily basis. While I wanted to ask what the look was about and if anyone had ever commented about that before, I never really talked to him. Through co-workers, however, I did find out that he was in band and had multiple kids...so I’m pretty sure he was Koresh incarnate.

Anyway, I had not thought about this guy for at least a decade. That was until my television came under siege with Koresh, only this time there was no extended standoff.

While flipping channels within the last week I ran smack into the new series “Waco”, starring Taylor Kitsch as Koresh, along with Michael Shannon, Melissa Benoist, Paul Sparks, Rory Culkin, John Leguizamo, and Shea Wigham among others. I immediately got sucked in - not because of any affinity for the cast nor because I had any real connection to the subject matter itself (I was in high school during the siege at Mt.Carmel and honestly barely remember a thing) - but because of the guy I used to work with that looked like Koresh!

Worse, as I was scrolling again on Sunday night, I ran into the A&E two-part dissection of Koresh,

the Branch Davidians, and the siege at Mt.Carmel. If you want to have about 300 WTF moments, give that a look. I powered through the A&E special and thought it was pretty informative and found the subject matter pretty interesting since I was too busy with high school life at the time this all went down. As for the series on the Paramount Network, I’m in. I’ll watch it through its run.

Apparently, I want my KoreshTV.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page